Finding my Rhythm

Review of the weekly log exercise.

For one week (7 days) I made a daily log of whatever I could remember that I did in a day.  I recorded the time and the activity or thought or observation.  As I was writing the log, it appears that I cared a great deal about water intake, regular bowel movements and avoiding traffic. I also noticed that Im busier than I think. Before I started I predicted that I would be editing elements of my day before I had to actually record them. Possibly because I didn’t want to share them, was embarrassed by them, etc. I wonder if I went back and did it again with abbreviations for private thoughts if my record would be different.  I estimate it would.  This is of course an admission that private thoughts are still very important to me.

The exercise was very enjoyable.  After a few days, I looked forward to writing.  It became distracting when I didn’t have time to complete my log by the end of the day.  First thing in the morning was my most productive time.  I enjoyed finishing the day with it, but seemed to be less convenient.  There would have to be some modifications to my routine to make space for writing in the evening. I do feel this could be a great way to close out the day and somehow set stage for productive sleep and dreams.

The word that came to the surface for me was rhythm. I think this is my watchword for 2015. Finding my rhythm, knowing the frequency of my rhythm, keeping my rhythm and adding complexity to my rhythm.   I’m looking forward to this.

Leave a Reply

