Summer has arrived

Its almost July, what happened to June?  Im still stuck in May!

We’ve had some good rainy days in June and the average temp starting earlier this month was around 60F.  Now we are well into the 90’s.  Thats hot……for me anyway.  Since I did such a thorough closet cleaning when we moved in March, I really have only one or two tank tops and one light summer dress.  So I need to get cracking on adding a few elements to my closet for summer.

The word that comes to mind for clothing during the hot days of summer is “Easy.”

Easy to wear, no fuss, no technical difficulties, no shoe selection, no matching, no accessories……just easy.  I went to my stash and pulled out a bunch of lycra-jersey and found the Greenstyle Lillie Racerback Tank & Dress.  Ive made quite a few of these so far and love the shelf bra…..its easy…..no bra wearing required, just slip on some flip flops and you are ready for the day.

Most of these dresses I opted for a longer hem with a slight high-low.  Its so practical.  I get to show a little bit of leg, but don’t have to be concerned about accidentally flashing anyone when Im bending over to pull weeds, or pet my dog.


 

A few fabrics for summer dress consideration.  Im not much for light colors as you can see......I get them dirty too quickly.
A few fabrics for summer dress consideration. Im not much for light colors as you can see……I get them dirty too quickly.

The one lovely summery dress

remaining in my closet is a total show stopper. Its very light and flowy….and the perfect type of feminine for me.  The pattern on the fabric is interesting but not too busy and there isn’t much need to accessorize……easy.  I pulled some chiffons and silky rayons out of hiding and made my way to the cutting board.

Im a sucker for houndstooth and I think my first copy-cat edition turned out pretty good.  What do you think?

 


 

This isn’t all Ive been up to.  Im discovering my new home town has a rich art community.

I have been taking some fun classes.  The Durango Arts Center offers incredible courses for both visual and performing arts.  I became a member and signed up for the Paper Marbling course.  This was a perfect fit for me…….no artistic ability required with fantastic results!

A few of my colorful results from the Paper Marbling class.
A few of my colorful results from the Paper Marbling class.

We also have a really fun fabric and quilting store called Stitch and they host a summer art class series.  The latest was a Repeat-Pattern Design class taught by a local graphic designer and quilter Leesa Zarinelli Gawlick.  So far this was the most practical course for me.  I immediately went home and tried out a couple other designs.

Exercises from the Repeat Pattern Design class at Stitch.
Exercises from the Repeat Pattern Design class at Stitch.
Here is one of the fun designs I modified from my Repeat Pattern Design class on spoonflower.com.  I can't wait to see how it reads on fabric.
Here is one of the fun designs I modified from my Repeat Pattern Design class on spoonflower.com. I can’t wait to see how it reads on fabric.

I transformed some of these designs into my own custom fabric at Spoonflower.  You can find a link to my own Spoonflower store here.

Well…..thats enough for now.  You can have a look at some of my other fabric designs on my sewing page if you are interested.

Until next time……happy trails.

One thought on “Summer has arrived

Leave a Reply

