Fall Inspiration

Breaking news……We are half way through August!

We rode Kennebec Pass last weekend and the wildflowers were still vibrant against the lush high mountain landscapes.  I found it difficult to imagine the leaves will begin to fall in a few short weeks.  BUT…..mother nature doesn’t wait for us sentimental saps.  So, because I am already nostalgic about summer,  I thought my favorite August colors would look lovely in some new fall clothes!  For obvious reasons, much of my color inspiration comes from the luscious green and blue landscapes we have seen from all the moisture this summer.

Some additional inspiration comes from an unlikely source.  Many of you have heard Durango made national headlines when the Animas River was contaminated by a toxic spill from the abandoned Gold King Mine.  It was difficult to see the river change a mustard yellow, however in the abstract, it was quite beautiful.

The Animas River in Durango, CO 24 hours after the toxic spill from the abandoned Gold King Mine.  Even though this is an unlikely source of inspiration for my fall color palate, I feel like it in a small way will mark this event in time.
The Animas River in Durango, CO 24 hours after the toxic spill from the abandoned Gold King Mine. Even though this is an unlikely source of inspiration for my fall color palate, I feel in a small way it will mark this event in time.

Speaking of elusive beauty…I came across a brilliant copper mud puddle on a bike ride near the Colorado Trail.  It moved me enough to stop and capture an image.

IMG_1543
A brilliant orange mud puddle I passed on a bike ride in the high country. I plan to add this color to accent the blues and greens.

Last year I scored this incredible Pendleton wool fabric.  Its very thick and the pile invites sensations of warmth on a cold winter day.  This wool has been waiting an eternity to transform into the perfect garment.  Now it will become a Thread Theory Newcastle Cardigan.

DSC_0297
Pendleton wool plaid. Navy & white striped french terry. This is fall!

But what will I wear under it you ask?  Well, I have some ideas.  Think of how comforting french terry would feel against your skin as the crisp fall air settles in.  Yes…thats what Im thinking too. Before I knew it, this cute little Colette Patterns Laurel found its way into my life.  I used the “Mod-ified”pattern hack to add in-seam pockets, but kept the neckline the same.  This pattern is built for woven fabrics, but I find it works well for knits.  The one major variation using knits is sizing down in the width to account for stretch.  Because this will be a fall piece, I lengthened the sleeves about one inch so they hit just below my elbows and kept the skirt about knee length.  I have plenty of leggings and even some skinny jeans that will easily fit underneath as the temps drop.  And soon I will have a cozy Pendleton wool cardigan to throw on top!

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Fall Inspiration

Leave a Reply

